Members sign in

Forgotten your password?

< Back to Officers

Events Officer - Diane Taylor

Diane Taylor

Diane began training as a YTS apprentice Student Pharmacy Technician in 1986. She qualified in 1988 and was employed as a rotational pharmacy technician by Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, working in aseptic, non-sterile production, radio isotopes, wards and dispensary.

In 2003 Diane secured the position of Senior Technician for training and education patient services, initially this role was focused on managing and facilitating training for student pharmacy technicians, ensuring that all assessments and observations were carried out to enable candidates to complete their NVQ with Preston College. This gave her  the opportunity to complete the A1 assessor qualification in 2004 and later the IQA (internal quality assurance) award in 2005.

In 2008 Diane enabled the Trust to become the first Northwest hospital to be registered as a pharmacy NVQ centre with City and Guilds, providing both level 2 & 3 NVQ’s in Pharmacy Service Skills.
In August 2010 Diane completed the Certificate In Training Practice gaining knowledge and skills to deliver teaching to adults.Putting what  she had learnt into practice Diane wrote several training modules for ward based technicians including standardised competencies mapped to the medicines management Framework which all MM technicians,  pre-registration pharmacists and newly qualified pharmacists have to complete to assure safe and effective provision of services for patients.

In 2013 Diane became Lead Pharmacy Technician for Education and Training. In undertaking this position her role has grown significantly to include management and education of pre-registration pharmacists, medicines management training to newly qualified nurses and prescribing assessments for junior doctors.
Diane is a representative on a number of regional professional committees including NW Pharmacy Technical Support Group, NW Training Standards Group, BTec Accuracy Checking Support Group, NW Centre for Workforce Development Multi Professional CPD Group and LETB ,  Cumbria and Lancashire Education Group (CLEG).

Diane is keen to encourage  and inspire school children and college leavers into the pharmacy profession and regularly promotes pharmacy careers at NHS events as well as schools/colleges throughout the Northwest.

In June of 2015 Diane was awarded Pharmacy Technician of the Year for Outstanding Contribution to Pharmacy by APTUK.